Horse of the Year

Spankem (NZ) crowned 2018-19 NZB Standardbred Horse of the Year 

Spankem’s return from obscurity to win the Miracle Mile saw him crowned horse of the year at the 2019 New Zealand Harness Racing Awards.

The Mark Purdon and Natalie Rasmussen trained pacer’s brilliant rise to the top of the grand circuit ranks, after suffering a season ending injury as a three-year-old, was rewarded when he won Pacer of the Year and Four-Year-Old Male Pacer of the year, before he took the awards evening’s top prize.

The son of Bettor's Delight out of Chrushem (NZ) (Holmes Handover) put seven Group titles on his resume during his outstanding season.

Spankem notched four Group One wins in the Miracle Mile, Canadian Club Classic, Taylor Mile and New Zealand Messenger Championship. He also bagged wins in two Group Three Interdominion heats and the Group Two Kaikoura Cup.

NZB Standardbred Horse of the Year

Horse Breeding Season
Spankem (NZ) Bettors Delight x Crushem (NZ) 2018-2019
Lazarus (NZ) Bettors Delight x Bethany (NZ) 2017-2018